On sun-drenched reading

I seem to work best when I have too much on my plate. I always seem to be busy – working full-time, studying for uni, working on my manuscript, working on my blog, running a house, seeing friends and family, trying to exercise… Often things fall to the wayside (often it’s exercise, which I know is bad!). But being busy also means that I don’t always have as much time to read, or just relax, as I want (or need). So I always love escaping down to Ben’s parent’s beach shack with Ben and his friends – I know, when I am there, I am going to get a whole lot of reading done.

Being at the beach shack is essentially a day of reading – the boys might go for a surf, and I’ll come for a swim, but after an hour I’ll laze on the beach and read. The boys might watch a bit of cricket on TV, and I’ll stretch out in the sun on the deck and read. Wake up early, go for a stroll on the beach, and sit down on the sand and read.

I took down A Traveller in Time by Alison Uttley, which was lovely – it has this slow-moving, descriptive pace that is perfect for the beach. Alison Uttley makes everything, even the act of collecting herbs or feeding the hens, dreamy and soft. It made me feel dreamy and soft. It had moments of drama, but mostly it was like sailing on calm waters, watching history drift past (I hope I am not giving anything away when I tell you that A Traveller in Time is about a girl who travels back to the days of Queen Elizabeth and Mary Queen of Scots…).

The weekend was one lovely, sun-drenched, reading-filled trip, but now I’m back in Adelaide, back to work and uni and trying to write and cleaning the house and the other extra million things that one must do before one leaves for overseas (two and a half weeks!). I will still be reading (obviously), but trying to sneak it in between everything. I suppose it helps that my next big reading binge is not that far away… I have 23 hours on a plane coming up. I better pack some big books.

Leave a Reply

