On back to reality – and creating a new surreality

So it’s all over. Four weeks, five weekends, four projects achieved, 26 shows seen, very little sleep happening. The Adelaide Fringe is over for 2014, and my contract with my favourite company in the world is coming to an end for another year.

It is sad for me, yes, but also, a bit of a relief. As much as I love the hectic, surreal, creative time that is Adelaide Fringe, I need a bit of a rest. Last Monday, the first day after the Fringe finished and the day after my last project, the Fringe Awards, was finished, I woke up without an alarm for the first time in recent memory, and actually spent an hour reading in bed. It was amazing.

libro

 

The Fringe doesn’t always feel like real life – it is too exciting, too intense, too surreal. But in a way, that’s what reading does for me for the rest of the year (just with more sleep). No matter what is going on, how boring real life is, I can always plunge into a book and escape to an exciting, intense, surreal place, for however long I like.

I finish at the Fringe in two weeks, and for the first time in a long time, don’t have anything lined up for a few weeks. I am so excited. I can’t tell you how much I plan to read! To escape from the real world, and back to make believe lands, make believe people, but all too real stories.

I did 26 shows in four weeks – I wonder how many books I can do in the same amount of time? The countdown can begin from the 5th April.

2 comments

  1. From an ink smeared page

    It does sound intense!

  2. J.R.Barker

    Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

